It is currently Sat Nov 18, 2017 1:57 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: New FAIB 767 no beacon
PostPosted: Mon Nov 06, 2017 4:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2014 12:19 am
Posts: 8
Hi, first of all congratulations for this great model ac's, you've done a great job with it !!!!!!
The only issue i'm having is that i can't see the beacon lights on the 763 and 764 models, didn't try the 762 yet, I'm confident that my installation went well, i've also tried to add the beacon in other procedure like changing the effect name in the [Lights] section and having this fx file in the p3dv4 effect folder for example, but no luck.
Maybe the model is missing this effect?
Thanks for this 767 spectacular ai anyway, great week
Sergio


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 06, 2017 6:19 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2012 7:48 pm
Posts: 879
Hi,
The supplied .fx files are working perfectly for me in P3DV4.1.
I would suggest the following things:
1. have you followed the new instructions for installation in the readme.txt file for P3DV4 models?
2. have you turned on the missing content logging feature to check if P3D reports not being able to find the effects?
3. have you tried other aircraft and saw if their beacon is working? Do you have a beacon on other FAIB models in P3DV4.1? Did you try swapping with a beacon from an aircraft.cfg that does work?

All I can say is if I go into the FAIB effects folder and deliberately rename the 7673 beacon effect to a different name I get the following errors in my missing content log:
Code:
[error.62]
error=Failed to load visual effect "fx_FAIB_7673_beacon"

[error.63]
error=Failed to load visual effect "fx_FAIB_7673_beacon"

[error.64]
error=Failed to load visual effect "fx_FAIB_7673_beacon"

[error.65]
error=Failed to load visual effect "fx_FAIB_7673_beacon"


You should do this check and see if P3D really does not see the file.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 06, 2017 8:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2014 12:19 am
Posts: 8
thanks for you answer and suggestions
1. Yeap
2. No, i'll try that
3. Other ai's beacon working, I must add that i'm using AI Lights Reborn Free Edition maybe it's conflicting with something, will keep investigating. I think i tried with another beacon yesterday effect and still didn't work, will try today again.

Again thanks very much for your suggestions, will try and report back

Sergio


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 06, 2017 8:56 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2012 7:48 pm
Posts: 879
I have no idea if the models work with AI Lights Reborn Free Edition as I have not tested them with it.
AI Lights Reborn Free Edition might be changing the default fx_2.bmp texture which is a part of P3D and causing the FAIB beacon effect to fail although that hypothesis demands that other FAIB effects not work as well.

Good luck trying to sort this out.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 06, 2017 9:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2014 12:19 am
Posts: 8
Jeez!, tried everything, no go, so strange
When i tried your suggestion of renaming the 7673 beacon effect to a different name i got no error in the p3d content log, so it's something i'm doing wrong when installing, the strange thing is that if i place the beacon effect in p3dv4 effect folder, i still have no beacon light only on this FAIB new ai, the rest are fine.

Also, the fx_2.bmp is not part of the reborn lights pack

Thanks man, i'll keep fighting with this...

Another user confirmed he didn't have beacon lights too in this model

let you know if i find what the issue is

Kind regards

Sergio


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 07, 2017 11:10 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 10:48 am
Posts: 3
Hi Erez,

Thanks for all your efforts to provide these models to our community.

I'm the other user that was mentioned above with this problem. All other lights (nav, strobe, taxi etc) are working. I have done some further testing on this issue.

- I have added the B767-beacon effect to the FAIB 737-900W in the aircraft.cfg, that worked fine.
- I then added the B737-beacon effect to the B767 and that did not work, no errors mentioned in the content error-report which suggests that the beacon-effect was not called for.

Which means that the effect is indeed working properly but not on the B767-models for us. Is there any pre-condition in the activation of the beacon that we can check or do you have any other suggestion?

Rob


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 08, 2017 1:04 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2014 12:19 am
Posts: 8
Hey Rob, just discovered that the NWF model has all lights working including the beacon, it's a thing with the wing flex model and beacon light, so I'm most certain that FAIB should fix that one IMHO.
Good week
Sergio


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 08, 2017 2:38 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2012 7:48 pm
Posts: 879
Have you tried the suggestion here:
http://www.alpha-india.net/forums/index ... #msg264545

If this works for you it will need to be done for all 767 aircraft.cfg


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 09, 2017 4:42 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2014 12:19 am
Posts: 8
Hi there , thanks for the link, i'm unable to try this week (moving), i'll let you know when i do.
Thanks a lot again, have good one
Sincerely
Sergio


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 09, 2017 9:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 10:48 am
Posts: 3
Hi Erez,

I tried this fix and it works for the models with wingflex.

Thanks

Rob


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 09, 2017 9:38 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2012 7:48 pm
Posts: 879
Good to know, now the real question is why is this affecting some users and not affecting others.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 14, 2017 5:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2017 10:48 am
Posts: 3
Hello Erez,

If there is any information I can provide about my setup to answer that question let me know.

Some general information: I use P3D4.1, all AI-aircraft are in a separate folder outside the main P3D-folder. I updated the 3 cfg-files as indicated in the readme with as a difference I included the drive-letter and folder-structure in stead of the relative position of the folder i.e. the effects.cfg looks like this:

[Entry.0]
Title=Default Effects
Path=Effects
Required=True
Active=True
[Entry.1]
Title=FAIB Effects
Path=D:\AI Traffic\SimObjects\AI\FAIB\Effects
Required=True
Active=True

If you need more specific information let me know.

Rob

In my search for a solution I also copied the 3 beacon-effect files to my main effects-folder but that did not resolve the issue. At the moment they are still in the main effects-folder.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 16, 2017 4:54 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2017 2:05 am
Posts: 4
I want to add that I also do not have
beacon or navigation-lights with the new B767 in FSX-SP2.
All effect and texture-files are where they should be.

I tried the wing-flex model as well as the NWF.

I have all FAIB aircraft in my sim,never had an issue like this.

Regards,Jens P.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 17, 2017 5:33 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2017 2:05 am
Posts: 4
Ok,

I managed to get the beacon and navigation-lights working!

Changed navigation-lights to always on in the aircraft cfg.
-and there they are - not only when the aircraft is parking
but also taxiing and on the runway.

Regards,Jens P.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group